Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media Resource Center: LINCOLN-DOUGLAS DEBATES: Restifo

LINCOLN DOUGLAS DEBATES

Use the resources identified below to research your position and prepare your argument.

If you have questions related to the resources available here or print materials, stop by the Media Center or send an email. 

LD PROJECT SOURCES

 
The Research Guide containing a list of suggested general reference sources, and sources by debate topic, may be found here. This will assist you in your research.

BOOKS

Some relevant books have been identified for your use.
MMA Destiny Catalog
Please search the Destiny On-Line Catalog, by title, to find the Dewey number and locate a book. You may also find other print resources here as well.  Use the keyword search terms on the book list, or come up with your own.
 
To go directly to the Destiny Lincoln-Douglass resource list click here.

eBOOKS

For Gale eBooks (GVRL) resource list click here, then click open to access the online eBook.

Access Information (Username / Password)

Access Information for eResources, Destiny & NoodleTools

eResources @ MMA Description for Merion Mercy Faculty, Staff & Students

[Viewing these documents requires MMA gmail account login.]

eResource Databases Online

Media Center Username / Password Access Information for eResources, Destiny & NoodleTools

   
Proquest's eLibrary provides over 1,700 full-text titles, 11,000+ Research Topics. General reference with editor-created content. Over 7 million photos, graphics, maps & websites.

Search Gale's Academic, General & News OneFile.  Select to include additional topic collections and ebooks to find periodicals.  Gale includes millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
ProQuest K-12 is a periodical resource with databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers, scholarly journals, periodicals and many other resources from around the world.
WorldBook is an online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more from biography and news databases. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor- reviewed Web sites, and more. Access age-specific articles plus academic research material!
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
EBSCOHost EbscoHOST includes AP  Image Collection, Consumer Health, Explora, Science Reference Center & more Ebsco Collections, providing access to ebooks, encylopedias, academic journals, magazines, newspapers and educational materials.
Power Library

Power Library including Gale & EBSCO

World Library of Science

High School

Recommended General Database Collections

Gale High School Edition

NOODLETOOLS

You are required to cite all of your sources using Noodletools. Access your Noodletools account below.

Individual MMA login is required.

SAFEGUARD AGAINST PLAGIARISM

Safeguard against PLAGIARISM! 

 

Courtesy of Bainbridge State College (https://youtu.be/2q0NlWcTq1Y) Accessed October 23, 2015

ORGANIZE YOUR ARGUMENT

Use an organizational structure that arranges the argument in a way that will make sense to the reader. The Toulmin Method of logic is a common and easy to use formula for organizing an argument.

Visit the Purdue OWL Writing Lab for more tips on how to structure your argument.

INVESTIGATE FROM A MORAL PERSPECTIVE

Investigate from a Moral Perspective with Theology Periodicals

Theology PERIODICALS

Click for access to Theological Periodicals

Available from Merion Mercy’s Online Subscriptions

DEBATE HUMOR

Here is a lighthearted example of a one-on-one debate showing how arguments and rebuttals are used.