Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media Resource Center: EFFECTIVE WRITING

EFFECTIVE WRITING 2016

eBooks : For REFERENCE

MMA username and password may be required for downloads.  See Access Information.


Salem Press  Book Shelf 

includes: Literature; History; Math & Science; Genetics; Psychology & Mental Health
Video Introduction for Salem Press Researchers


 

Google Book Search

Google Books often includes a preview of the book.  A citation may be available or use the ISBN# in NoodleTools to cite a book.


 

Search Oxford Reference Online  

24/7 ON-LINE CHAT HELP

On-line research help is available 24/7 through Access-PA*. USE IT!

*Access-PA is a network of research professionals whose services we are entitled to by membership.

EFFECTIVE WRITING BOOK LIST (PRINT)

Check out books on the Effective Writing cart!

Ask for direction from Sr. Sally or Mrs. Gregitis

MMA Destiny Catalog

Basic Search

Destiny Discover

 

Forgot password?  Read instructions here

eResource Databases Online

Media Center Username / Password Access Information for eResources, Destiny & NoodleTools

   
Proquest's eLibrary provides over 1,700 full-text titles, 11,000+ Research Topics. General reference with editor-created content. Over 7 million photos, graphics, maps & websites.

Search Gale's Academic, General & News OneFile.  Select to include additional topic collections and ebooks to find periodicals.  Gale includes millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
ProQuest K-12 is a periodical resource with databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers, scholarly journals, periodicals and many other resources from around the world.
WorldBook is an online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more from biography and news databases. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor- reviewed Web sites, and more. Access age-specific articles plus academic research material!
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
EBSCOHost EbscoHOST includes AP  Image Collection, Consumer Health, Explora, Science Reference Center & more Ebsco Collections, providing access to ebooks, encylopedias, academic journals, magazines, newspapers and educational materials.
Power Library

Power Library including Gale & EBSCO

World Library of Science

High School

Recommended General Database Collections

Gale High School Edition

eResources Organized by Topic

 Research Topics

With eLibrary’s Research Topics, users can review visually attractive content, curated by editors, on more that 11,000 of the most popular search queries. A great starting point to learn the context behind the topic before exploring the article results.

 

 Browse Topics

SELECTING KEYWORDS ... A VIMEO

WEBSITE EVALUATION

When in doubt - doubt!

NOODLETOOLS

Individual MMA login is required.

 

*Your Works Cited will be easier to create with the help of your MMA NoodleTools account.

NoodleTOUR!

SAMPLE WORKS CITED PAGE

This sample Works Cited page provided courtesy of Modesto Junior College.

"Ready, Set, Cite (MLA)." Research Guides and Tutorials. 2015. Modesto Junior College. Web. 11 Jan. 2016. http://libguides.mjc.edu/MLA/mlaworkscited.

FORMATTING QUOTATIONS

Get help formatting in-text quotations, the LONG and SHORT of it.

TURNITIN

PLAGIARISM

Safeguard against PLAGIARISM! 

 

Courtesy of Bainbridge State College (https://youtu.be/2q0NlWcTq1Y) Accessed October 23, 2015

YOU BE THE JUDGE